Newly diagnosed, and just having an all around hard time

Hi everyone,

So this is my first time becoming involved in a support site, since I was only diagnosed a few months ago. I can honestly say that Fibro has really thrown my life for a loop. Before I got sick, I was very active, going to the gym everyday, working full time, thriving social life, and a beautiful daughter. I wanted nothing more than to be the perfect wife and mother, and thats just not an option for me anymore. I don't mean to throw my own pity party, its just so nice to say all of this to people that I could understand. Besides the constant pain, and fatigue, I think the thing that kills me the most is the guilt. The constant guilt that I'm not being a good mother while laying in bed in pain, the guilt I feel every time I see my husbands face fall when he sees that its a bad fibro day. I never feel like I'm enough anymore, and the little I have left of myself seems to just slip away. I just so desperately want to be back to my old self, and I'm having a very hard time letting it go. I keep pushing myself to be more, and do more that I end up crashed and in bed for days. I'm just really hoping that someone who reads this will understand what I'm going through, and perhaps give me some advice. Thanks so much

Ali

Hi and welcome!:slight_smile:️ I understand you perfectly. I was diagnose with Fibro in 2010 a few months after getting assaulted at work. I am a retired police officer and still married to one. I have a 12 year old daughter and a 15 year old stepdaughter. I lived being Supermom and Super-wife for many years. I worked 12 hrs shifts and still got home to cook dinner, clean, oversee the girls homework, go to the gym 1 to 2 hrs a day 5 times a week and do some laundry at times. Babysitter would stay 3 night out of the week and then I would take all the responsibility of a housewife.