Success stories?

TL/DR version:

Has anyone here been able to manage their fibro symptoms long-term? I'm scared and need some encouragement. Advice is welcome too, and statistics or other data that might help me put things in proportion :-)

Long story / "life story version" of why I'm asking:

I'm just getting started on the life-long fibro journey, only diagnosed last week. I'm scared of becoming disabled because I am the sole breadwinner for myself, my husband, and our four children. I earn good money right now, but we've been over-spending because I've been too tired to manage the budget, be frugal, etc. (this inappropriate spending is recovering with the rest of my symptoms).

I am trying to do "everything right" - exercise but only to the point of being tired and not overdoing it, eat low-carb / high vitamin, taking my meds, getting the best sleep I can, and even rented an apartment near work where I can crash if I'm flaring and need to spend some more time on my health / sleeping / etc, relaxing when I can. I started this all before getting the official diagnosis, and it seems to be helping - I haven't had severe pain in months, and have been able to finish work every day until today, when a flare mostly affecting my brain lowered my emotional control so badly I was having trouble not crying at work (my recall and memory have been trashed for the last couple of weeks as well).

This, and the effects of fibro / exhaustion on my relationships with some of my family are really stressing me out right now. Quincy started a thread on a similar family experience, and I'm looking forward to seeing the advice she gets. I figured I'd start another thread to help me cope with my fears of not being able to support my family any more here. I know I need to get the stress under control if I want to avoid flaring again, and I generally fight stress best with information :-)

Ethel,