Advice

I work as a RN educator as I had to leave my job in an ICU due to psoriatic arthritis, trigeminal neuralgia and fibro. What I would like to know is how the heck do I manage that and my two kids and life??? My son has a hockey tournament this weekend and of course my hubby is working. (not his fault). And I am feeling like crap. Pain is crazy. I am taking morphine to cope and the thought of the upcoming week makes me cry. I literally want to cry. People do not understand why I can not ‘volunteer’ or help out. Friends do not understand why I can not come out and do this or that. I literally have locked my office door at times and laid down on my coat etc to try to nap to be able to cope.

I am on a biologic and ad mars for my arthritis, tegretol for my trigeminal and the dr has me on elavil and cymbalta for the fibro. We tried gabapentin and I could not function at all. We tried a pregabapentin drug with no help at all. I take long acting morphine every night and short acting prn.

I also take synthroid as my thyroid was removed due to a massive tumour.

I need to work financially but I need some advice or tips from you guys on how to make my life livable and work for my family.

Thanks

Kirsten,
I’m so sorry to hear the pain you’re going through.
Have you tried lyrica? I know it’s nothing as strong as morphine. But It may help to be able to get you to go do what you need to do throughout the day.
I know just with fibro I feel like crying and I curl up in bed a lot. So I can’t imagine with everything else you’re going through.
I’m sorry they don’t understand. Thing is they never will. That is because the education is just now out there and it was ruined when it was first interpreted as “a all in our head problem” years ago. So why would anybody listen now. First impressions stick. Right!?
Anyways please hang in there, if anything I’m here to listen and help in anyway I can. I think you can do this, fight hard and strong and don’t give up!
Joy

Hello Kirsten