Why I joined

Hello All,

I've had a rough day today and really needed to talk about what happened. I'm so grateful I found this support group to find others that have experienced what I have. I'm sure I'm not the only one that has faced this so I would love to hear how you have handled it.

I am a small business owner. I have been in lots of pain due to the stress of running a business. I suspected that I had fibro but wasn't diagnosed until I was six months into my business. It took my husband almost a year to see what this stress was doing to my body. At that point he wanted me to keep trying to make the business work. It all just got worse.

We finally made the decision to close the business after a lot of tears and angst. (2 years) I thought after we decided to close things would get easier. Wrong! Trouble came in the form of an employee. She is a very strong willed person and she didn't have a problem letting me know we were making a mistake. I've been listening to her for over a week.

Today she just totally turned on me. I'm faking my pain she said. I'm just lazy and don't want to work she said. She claimed I am an awful person. I totally went off the deep end. Of all things, I fear people not believing that I am in pain. Do I have to moan and limp to show the pain. NO! I became a crazy woman. Yelling and screaming at her. I just wanted to escape her attack, I wanted to crawl in a hole.

I am still reeling from the incident and don't know how to recover from it.

Please don't tell me to get over it, to just ignore her, or let it roll off my back. I'm not that person. I'm over sensitive, affected by others. But I am working on it. My therapist would say that I know what to do. My brain isn't listening.

Thanks for letting me get this out.

I have come to learn that "those" type of people have to blame someone, so they pick the person who takes the criticism to their very core.