Disability

Has anyone had to go on disability or work fewer hrs in relation to fibromyalgia?

I think that most of us who have had it a while do reduce our work hours and/or apply for disability. My first application was a huge disappointment, and I even lost the hearing due to everything going wrong, and I mean everything. My second hearing will be next year. I have been working 10 hrs/week, sometimes not at all, since 2007. Remember that the system tends to dismiss your case if you're working even a few hrs. Some court systems are better than others but in any case you should study up on it if you're needing disability. Good luck, take care.

I was on complete disability for 6 months. I have gradually increased my hours that I can work over the past several months. I have been told I have one of the most severe cases by multiple doctors. My doctor does not believe I will ever be able to work full time. However, I want my career back and wish to eventually go back full time.

I am at the onset of applying for disability. I have only recently been diagnosed with fibro, for the last four or five years I had been having very strange symptoms. Severe depression, memory loss and depleted sleep.My family Dr sent me to an orthopedist and he said I had tennis elbow. I had cortizone shots in both arms for two years and he ignored all other symptoms until the severe pain moved to my shoulder, lower back and behind my knees. I met with a rheumatolagist who, after shooting me with more cortizone, realised that I had fibro and referred me to a neurologist. My ahha moment, finally someone that understands. My Doctors sister suffers from fibro and she actually explained the disease and what I should expect. I am currently on a variety of meds, testing the dosage and the level of pain I am in.

I was not at all pleased to find out I had fibro but it was a huge relief to find some one that could help.