Working again

Hey everyone,

so I just recently got hired to do makeup again (yay!), and I am SO excited about it. It has been a long time since I worked last (or so it feels), and admittedly I am a little nervous that the fibro will come at me with all it's got once I am working full swing. But I am determined to stick it out and keep working no matter what, I really need this job and I am so thankful that God has blessed me with it.

Is there anyone else out there that is works and has fibro? What are some ways you take care of yourself to prevent really bad flare ups on and off the job?

I am a hair stylist and I can still work full time. I make sure to sit down when I can to rest . I schedule appts with time in between but alot of the time walkins fill that time. When I get home I fix dinner and crash. On my days off. I do what I can and. if I can’t oh well.

I worked full time up till a couple of weeks ago. I am so happy for you remember to pace to pace your self and rest.

Hi Ahava,

This is great news! I know you are excited about this, and I wish you well with it!

Good to hear from you!

Hugs,

SK

Congratulations, Ahava! Your job sounds like a rewarding one, in many ways. I'm glad that you got it.

I think the best way to handle it is to NOT push yourself beyond the limit. DON'T do tons of overtime. Try to rest in between clients as much as you can. Bring a super comfy pillow to work, in case your back or other area bothers you. (K-Mart had small memory foam pillows a month or so ago that fit the bill.) Pace yourself. Wear super comfy shoes. Don't wear tight or binding clothes that might annoy you all day long. If you can take any over the counter stuff for pain, make sure you have some at your workplace.

Maybe you'd also benefit from a massage. Massage schools offer them at a very low rate because the students are learning to do their job. They'd have someone there to make sure they're doing everything properly.